ABC 6 News Wins Page One Awards

Posted at: 05/25/2010 2:18 PM

The ABC 6 News team continues to accrue distinguished awards for outstanding local news coverage. ABC 6 News has been honored by The Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists with three awards.

Page One Awards

Sarah Swistak, Weekend Anchor and Reporter, won first place honors for two Page One Awards. Her "Unemployment and the Disabled" report won in the Hard News category. It focused on how disabled workers were frequently the first people to lose their jobs, the last to get hired, and how they are working to turn that around in a tough economy. She was also awarded first place in the Feature Report category for "Mayo Clinic Promise", a story on a Mayo Clinic doctor who followed through on his promise to a former cancer patient and danced with her at her high school prom.

Erin Rooney, ABC 6 News Producer, is receiving her Page One Award in the Best Newscast category for outstanding blizzard coverage in the 5 PM newscast on December 8, 2009.

ABC 6 News Director Mike Schram shared his enthusiasm for the most recent award recognition. "We are extremely proud of the hard work and dedication that goes into every ABC 6 newscast. This impressive recognition of Sarah Swistak and Erin Rooney with Page One Awards is well deserved and reinforces our ongoing commitment to team excellence among our broadcast journalism peers and to the public."  The Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists presented the Page One Awards Friday, May 21st at the Town and Country Club in St. Paul.

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) is the oldest, largest, broadcast-based organization of journalists in the United States. It was founds as Sigma Delta Chi in 1909. The Minnesota Chapter was founded in 1956 and chapter membership totals about 160.  In 1998, the Minnesota Pro Chapter was named national large chapter of the year.