Posted at: 08/23/2010 4:51 PM

ABC 6 News has been honored by the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Television Academy with eight Emmy® nominations, the most nominations for a station within this market."

"We are thrilled with this level of recognition for our commitment to comprehensive local and regional news coverage," said David Harbert, ABC 6 News General Manager.  "We see these nominations as strong reinforcement of how seriously we take consistent delivery of a top quality news operation, the quality of our staff and our commitment to community."

ABC 6 News earned a nomination in the category of Daytime Newscast for ABC 6 News Good Morning; Anchors, Melanie Bloom and Bryan Piatt, Producer, Phena Varnie, Meteorologist, Steve Sosna, Director - Rick Seiver and News Director, Mike Schram.
For Evening Newscast, ABC 6 News at 10 PM was nominated; Anchors, Ericka Miller and James Wilcox, Meteorologist, Rusty Dawkins, Producer – Joel McFarlin, Director – Robin Thorpe and News Director, Mike Schram.
ABC 6 News Weekend at 10 PM earned a nomination; Anchor/Producer Sarah Swistak, Meteorologist, Chris Kuball, Director, Peter Leuthardt and News Director, Mike Schram.

In the category of Interview 2-part news series, Reporter Bryan Piatt received a nomination for his exclusive sit down interview, "Erasing Hate: Keeping Matthew’s Story Alive". Assistant News Director and Reporter David Springer has been honored with four Emmy® award nominations. In the Arts/Entertainment category for "Carillon What?" The Health/Science/Environment category for "Dr. Jack" and Single Story Child Category, "No Restrictions, No Nothin" along with videographer, Brandon McElroy. Also in the category of writing, David earned a nomination with his writing composite.

Winners will be announced at the Annual Emmy® Awards Gala on September 25th at the Pantages Theater in Minneapolis. The Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Television Academy is a membership organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work, past and present, providing professional development and outreach; and nurturing the next generation of television professionals.

Other Hubbard Broadcasting Corporation TV stations that received numerous nominations, include KSTP at 35, WDIO at 5 and KCTC with 3.