St. Marys & Methodist Hospitals To Consolidate Under New Name

Posted at: 03/25/2013 11:24 AM
Updated at: 03/25/2013 7:52 PM

(ABC 6 News) - Mayo Clinic announced today that the Saint Marys Hospital and Rochester Methodist Hospital are transitioning into a single licensed hospital under the name of Mayo Clinic Hospital - Rochester. The change will go into effect on January 1, 2014.  
"From their respective beginnings, Saint Marys Hospital, the Sisters of Saint Francis, Methodist Hospital and Mayo Clinic have enjoyed a partnership founded on trust, mutual respect and commitment to meeting the needs of each patient," says Mayo Clinic President, John Noseworthy, M.D. "By continuing the integration we began in 1986, patients can have a more complete, accurate picture of the care we provide at Mayo Clinic."  
Mayo Clinic currently has a single integrated hospital practice divided between two hospital licenses and two legal entities. Regulations require separate reporting of quality, financial and operating data to organizations such as the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Separate hospital reporting has increasingly resulted in an incomplete and incorrect picture of Mayo Clinic's care. Reporting as one hospital will ensure that regulatory agencies, payers and patients have accurate information about Mayo Clinic.   

The change, approved by the Academy of Our Lady of Lourdes (Sisters of Saint Francis), means that Saint Marys Hospital will no longer be designated as a Catholic health care institution in the Catholic Health Care Directory.

"Although the Catholic identity and the name of Saint Marys Hospital will change, much will remain the same. The chapel will continue to be used as a Catholic chapel, a public place of worship available to patients, their families, employees, and local residents," says Sister Marilyn Geiger, Sisters of Saint Francis. "The Sisters of Saint Francis and Mayo Clinic will continue to work together to perpetuate the Franciscan Mission and the values of Mother Alfred Moes and Dr. W.W. Mayo."  

The convent on Saint Marys' campus will remain as will the The Sisters of Saint Francis presence.  

More tonight on ABC 6 News.