Russia Bans Entry to US Lawmakers, Officials

Posted at: 03/20/2014 5:49 AM
Updated at: 03/20/2014 12:35 PM
By: Jennie Olson

Russia on Thursday imposed entry bans on nine U.S. lawmakers and officials in response to Washington's sanctions over Crimea, the first retaliatory strike by Moscow.
The Russian Foreign Ministry on Thursday released the list that includes House Speaker House Speaker John Boehner, R-Ohio and Sen. Bob Menendez, D-N.J., the chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee.
It also names Ben Rhodes, a deputy U.S. national security adviser along with other White House advisers, Caroline Atkinson and Dan Pfeiffer, along with Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev. and Senators John McCain, R-Ariz.,  Mary Landrieu, D-La. and Dan Coats, R-Ind.
The Russian Foreign Ministry misspelled Reid's name as Reed.
The move came minutes after President Barack Obama introduced a new round of U.S. sanctions, including some senior Kremlin officials and lawmakers along with businessmen close to President Vladimir Putin.
"There should be no doubt, we will respond in kind to any hostile action," the Foreign Ministry said. "We have warned repeatedly that the use of sanctions is a double-edged sword that will boomerang against the United States."

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)