NM Senate Republicans choose leaders

Posted at: 12/13/2012 10:01 PM
Updated at: 12/13/2012 10:16 PM
By: Steve Mieczkowski

SANTA FE, N.M. (AP) - New Mexico Senate Republicans have voted to keep Stuart Ingle of Portales as their minority floor leader.

They voted during a meeting Thursday in Santa Fe to retain their current leaders as they prepare for the Legislature's 60-day session to begin in January.

Ingle has held the top GOP post for more than a decade. He took office in 1985 and also served as minority whip and minority caucus chair.

Senate Whip William Payne of Albuquerque will continue to serve as caucus whip, a position he has held since 2008, and Sen. Steven Neville of Aztec will continue as caucus chairman.

Ingle says it's going to be an interesting time in the Legislature and that the minority leaders plan to work across the aisle for the good of the state.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)