Six take oath of office for Bernalillo County

Posted at: 01/01/2013 4:04 PM
Updated at: 01/01/2013 4:09 PM
By: The Associated Press

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (AP) - Officials say four Bernalillo County commissioners, the county clerk and county treasurer have taken their oaths of office.

Bernalillo County officials say the ceremony was held Tuesday at the Second Judicial District Court in Albuquerque.

The ceremony included the swearing in of Commissioner Debbie O'Malley for District 1; Commissioner Art De La Cruz for District 2; Commissioner Maggie Hart Stebbins for District 3; Commissioner Lonnie Talbert for District 4; County Clerk Maggie Toulouse Oliver; and County Treasurer Manny Ortiz.

Officials say each will serve four-year terms, except O'Malley, who will finish out the remaining two years of a four-year term in the office previously held by former County Commissioner Michelle Lujan Grisham. She was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in November.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)