Lujan joins House Democratic leadership

Posted at: 01/04/2013 3:07 PM
By: Whitney Jones,

New Mexico’s Third Congressional District Congressman Ben Ray Lujan has been appointed to the House Democratic Leadership as Chief Deputy Whip.

House Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer, of Maryland, made the appointment.                     

“I look forward to this new opportunity to work with Whip Hoyer and assist in House Democrats’ efforts to promote an agenda that creates jobs and opportunities for the American people,” Lujan said in a prepared statement.

Party whips are responsible for mobilizing the party vote on important legislation before it comes to the floor for a vote. The whip also acts as a liaison between the members and the Caucus.

Hoyer is also appointing Reps. Keith Ellison and Terri Sewell as Chief Deputy Whips to join current Senior Chief Deputy Whip Rep. John Lewis and Chief Deputy Whips Reps. G.K. Butterfield, Diana DeGette, Jim Matheson, Jan Schakowsky, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, and Peter Welch, according to a press release.