Lobo men picked to win MWC

Posted at: 10/08/2013 10:40 AM
Updated at: 10/08/2013 2:00 PM
By: J.P. Murrieta and MWC release

The Mountain West released its men’s basketball preseason media poll and All-Conference team today, as selected by a voting panel comprised of Conference media.

Defending Mountain West regular-season and tournament champion New Mexico is the overwhelming preseason favorite to win the MW men’s basketball regular-season title again in 2013-14. The Lobos received 23-of-24 first-place votes and 263 points to garner the top spot in the poll. UNLV claimed the remaining first-place vote and 214 points to tie with Boise State for second place, while San Diego State garnered 212 points to finish fourth. Mountain West newcomer Utah State collected 156 points for fifth place, followed by Colorado State in sixth (142 points) and Wyoming (112 points) in seventh. Rounding out the poll were Fresno State (96 points) in eighth place, Nevada (84 points) in ninth, Air Force (61 points) in 10th and MW newcomer San José State (30 points) in 11th.

New Mexico amassed a 29-6 record overall and a 13-3 mark in Mountain West action last season en route to capturing its fourth MW regular-season title and third MW tournament crown. The Lobos claimed the league’s automatic bid, earning their second straight NCAA tournament appearance and sixth consecutive postseason berth overall. Four starters return among six letterwinners for first-year head coach Craig Neal, led by 2012-13 MW Player of the Year Kendall Williams (Sr., G) and fellow All-MW performer Alex Kirk (Jr., C).

Due to a tie in the balloting, six players were chosen for the 2013-14 Preseason All-MW Team, with two seniors and four juniors representing four institutions. New Mexico’s Kendall Williams received Preseason MW Player of the Year honors.

Rk. Team (1st-Place Votes) Points
1. New Mexico (23) 263
2. UNLV (1) 214
  Boise State 214
4. San Diego State 212
5. Utah State 156
6. Colorado State 142
7. Wyoming 112
8. Fresno State 96
9. Nevada 84
10. Air Force 61
11. San José State 30
Name Year Position Institution
Anthony Drmic Jr. G/F Boise State
Derrick Marks Jr. G Boise State
Deonte Burton Sr. G Nevada
Alex Kirk Jr. C New Mexico
Kendall Williams Sr. G New Mexico
Khem Birch Jr. F UNLV

Preseason Player of the Year: Kendall Williams, Sr., G, New Mexico

Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Josh Davis, Sr., F, San Diego State

Preseason Freshman of the Year: Kendall Smith, G, UNLV