MN Local Election Results Snapshot

Updated: 11/07/2012 1:14 AM By: Cassie Hart

Not only did Minnesotans vote on the president and members of congress, they also decided on new mayors, council members and referendum questions throughout the state.

Several Minnesota cities have new or returning Mayors. In the City of Edina, preliminary results show Jim Hovland remains in the Mayor’s seat. He defeated Linda Mascia 63% to 36% in the Mayoral race. In Excelsior, Mark Gaylord won over Steve Finch, 61% to 37% in the race of Mayor. He replaces Nick Ruehl.

In a number of communities Mayors went unopposed. In St. Cloud Dave Kleis remains in office, in Prior Lake Ken Hedberg had no opposition and Brad Nauman also ran unopposed for Buffalo Mayor.

Brad Aho and Ron Case have been re-elected to the Eden Prairie City Council.

In Robbinsdale School District, John Vento, Hellen Bassett and Sherry Tyreell will serve on the board. For Lakeville School board, Judy Keliher, Bob Erickson and Terry Lind will serve.

Both referendum questions to fund recreational facilities within the city of Cottage Grove failed. The city was looking to acquire an aquatic and youth play center.

In the Elk River School District, the operating levy renewal was on its way to pass. Meanwhile, the second question to add all-day everyday kindergarten, among other things was failing as of early Wednesday morning.

For complete election results where you live, click here.