Incumbents Win Big in Anoka, Blaine, Coon Rapids

Created: 11/07/2012 10:59 AM By: Jennie Olson

In the Anoka-Blaine-Coon Rapids election races this year, the incumbents were the clear winners overall. Here's a breakdown of the races:

Phil Rice was elected to another term in the Anoka mayoral race, defeating Barbara Deeds Baldwin 65 percent (4,861) to 35 percent (2,619).

Candidates elected to Anoka City Council positions were incumbents Mark Freeburg with 31 percent of the vote (3,831) and Steve Schmidt with 30 percent of the vote (3,758).

Coon Rapids
Steve Wells earned the at-large spot on the Coon Rapids City Council. He won 56 percent of the votes (14,529) over Roger Johnson, who received 43 percent of the votes (11,122).

Denise A. Klint retained the Ward 1 Coon Rapids City Council seat, defeating Chad Newman by 236 votes. Ron Manning earned the Ward 2 Coon Rapids City Council seat. He had 53 percent of the vote (2,904) compared to Ken Boelter’s 46 percent of the vote (2,539).     

Incumbent Jerry Koch ran unopposed for the Ward 4 seat in Coon Rapids and won with 4,321 votes.     

Incumbent Tom Ryan ran unopposed in the Blaine mayoral election and won with 22,554 votes.

For Blaine City Council, Dick Swanson retained the Ward 1 seat, Mike Bourke retained the Ward 2 seat, and Russ Herbst retained the Ward 3 seat after running unopposed.