Anoka County Commissioners Honor Public Health Award Winners

Created: 04/24/2013 11:09 AM By: Jennie Olson

Local individuals and groups were recognized for promoting and improving public health. George Steiner, Dawn Rutt, and the Anoka-Hennepin District 11 School Nurses were honored by the Anoka County Board of Commissioners earlier this month.

Steiner is the chair of the Northwest Community Health Council and helped form a program that addresses childhood obesity. He also advocated for the expansion of student wellness screenings in the Anoka-Hennepin School District and established the Anoka County Area Mental Health Medication Assistance Program, which helps people in crisis get the psychiatric medicine they need even if they can’t pay for them.

Rutt is a Youth Services Coordinator with Alexandra House and helps youth develop positive, healthy relationships and build stable home and school environments. She helped establish the Choose Respect program, which helps prevent dating violence and promote healthy relationships.

The Anoka-Hennepin District 11 School Nurses were recognized for promoting health in students, staff and the community. They have worked to fight a Pertussis epidemic, the H1N1 outbreak and other contagious disease this year.

Photo: From left: Tara Bubar and Cynthia Hiltz, Anoka-Hennepin District 11, Commissioner Carol LeDoux, Kathryn Westensee and Elizabeth Field, Anoka-Hennepin District 11. Courtesy of Anoka County.