More Challenges Planned for 2014 Crashed Ice Course

Updated: 02/11/2014 4:26 PM By: Heidi Enninga

In just a week and a half, Red Bull Crashed Ice returns to St. Paul for the third-straight year with even more twists in store for the skaters.

Around 100,000 people will surround the Cathedral of Saint Paul to watch daring skaters take on an ice track filled with bumps and turns.

For those who have seen Crashed Ice before, it seems like the course couldn't get any tougher, but Philippe Poirier, the Crashed Ice course designer, said they had to make this year's course harder to keep the competition on their toes.

Charlie Wasley, coach for team USA, said his squad is ready to take on the tougher and longer course come Feb. 22.

More than 50 first-time competitors will make up the field of 110 athletes in the Ice Cross Downhill Championships.

Below are the lists of athletes in the Saint Paul and Duluth qualifying events.

Saint Paul, MN qualifier

TJ Aubrecht                        Fridley, MN

Chris Barta                          Albertville, MN

Chad Berger                       Shoreview, MN

Daniel Betz                         Falcon Heights, MN

David Boehm                     Bemidji, MN

Jared Britton                      St. Cloud, MN

Daniel Cameron                Bloomington, MN

Sam Casalenda                  Bloomington, MN

Ross Charles                       Farmington, MN

Cole Meyer                        Buffalo, MN

Matthew Dalum               St Louis Park, MN

Derick Fiebiger                  Saint Paul, MN

Deke Finley                        Maple Grove, MN

Brad Fisher                         Minneapolis, MN

Mike Fox                             White Bear Lake, MN

Brian Galloway                  Saint Paul, MN

Patrick Graves                   Blaine, MN

Matthew Graves Jr         Blaine, MN

David Gross                        Rochester, MN

Luke Halvorson                 Red Wing, MN

Ryan Hartwell                    Burnsville, MN

Shael Hechter                    Saint Paul, MN

Dan Hirtz                              Burnsville, MN

Ryan Hoehn                       Eden Prairie, MN

Alec Holen                          Minneapolis, MN

Doug Hughes                     Saint Paul, MN

Jake Huston                       Benson, MN

Matt Johnson                    Brooklyn Park, MN

Bryant Johnson                 Minneapolis, MN

Jon Keseley                        St Louis Park, MN

Eli Krieter                             Edina, MN

Chris Lomen                       Minneapolis, MN

Sever Lundquist               Minneapolis, MN

Thomas Mertz                   Lakeville, MN

Jonathan Meyers             Chanhassen, MN

Samuel Paitich                   Saint Paul, MN

Stan Palmer IV                  Bloomington, MN

Jonny Palmeri                    Saint Paul, MN

Patrick Dyar                        Telluride, CO

TJ  Ridley                              St. Louis Park, MN

Brian Schack                       Golden Valley, MN

Tony Sikich                          Farmington, MN

Ramsey Skjei                     Lakeville, MN

Stefan Booth                     Saint Paul, MN

Mitchell Teisberg             Inver Grove Heights, MN

Andrew Wages                 Bloomington, MN

Kevin Wentland                Minneapolis, MN

Tomas Westmark             Saint Paul, MN

Lucas Whelan                    Maple Grove, MN

Dan Witty                            New Prague, MN

Ryan Witty                          St. Louis Park, MN

Ian Wolff                             Minneapolis, MN

Derek Wypyszynski         Lakeville, MN

Chris Zimmerman            Roseville, MN



Duluth, MN qualifier

Adam Corr                          New Prague, MN

Brandyn Folden                Regina, SK

Adam Gerlach                   Hastings, MN

Ben Hough                          Apple Valley, MN

Brian Jackson                     Roseville, MN

Craig Johnson                    Rochester, MN

Brian Jungwirth                 Stillwater, MN

Vladislav Kurshev             Russia

Scott Marschalk                Maple Grove, MN

Tory Merz                           Lakeville, MN

Steve Nelson                     Saint Paul, MN

Lane Noyes                        North Branch, MN

Kyle Pidde                           Burnsville, MN

Nolan Schipper                 Brooklyn Park, MN

John Sgromo                      Thunder Bay, ON

Blake Sundeen                  Brooklyn Center, MN

David Swearingen            Little Canada, MN