5 Gophers Honored by USCHO

Updated: 03/28/2014 1:31 PM KSTP.com By: Nick Tabbert

Rachel Ramsey, left, was one of five Minnesota players to receive awards from USCHO.
Rachel Ramsey, left, was one of five Minnesota players to receive awards from USCHO.
Photo: Photo: AP/Fred Beckham

Five members of the University of Minnesota women's hockey team were named All-USCHO honorees, U.S. College Hockey Online announced Friday. Minnesota had the most representatives of the 24 players that were honored.

Sophomore Hannah Brandt and junior Rachel Ramsey received first-team honors. Senior Kelly Terry was named to the second team, and junior Rachel Bona made the third team. Freshman Dani Cameranesi was named to the All-Rookie Team.

A total of 15 schools, including four from the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, were honored by USCHO. Clarkson, the team that beat Minnesota last weekend to win the national championship, had three honorees.

Also representing the WCHA were Alex Rigsby of Wisconsin, Sara Schmitt of Ohio State, and Lara Stalder of Minnesota-Duluth.

The Gophers finished the 2013-14 season 38-2-1 with the loss in the national championship. Minnesota had won the previous two titles, including a perfect 41-0 record in 2012-13.

All-USCHO First Team
F: Jamie Lee Rattray, Clarkson, Sr.
F: Hannah Brandt, Minnesota, So.
F: Sarah Lefort, Boston University, So.
D: Erin Ambrose, Clarkson, So.
D: Rachel Ramsey, Minnesota, Jr.
G: Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin, Sr.

All-USCHO Second Team
F: Jillian Saulnier, Cornell, Jr.
F: Kelly Babstock, Quinnipiac, Sr.
F: Kelly Terry, Minnesota, Sr.
D: Alyssa Gagliardi, Cornell, Sr.
D: Mel Desrochers, St. Lawrence, Sr.
G: Erica Howe, Clarkson, Sr.

All-USCHO Third Team
F: Christine Bestland, Mercyhurst, Sr.
F: Haley Skarupa, Boston College, So.
F: Rachael Bona, Minnesota, Jr.
D: Sara Schmitt, Ohio State, Jr.
D: Sara Edney, Harvard, Jr.
G: Ali Binnington, RIT, Jr.

USCHO All-Rookie Team
F: Phoebe Staenz, Yale
F: Brittany Howard, Robert Morris
F: Dani Cameranesi, Minnesota
F: Andie Anastos, Boston College
D: Lara Stalder, Minnesota-Duluth
G: Jessica Dodds, Robert Morris