Price, Dickey Win Cy Young Awards

Posted at: 11/15/2012 2:37 PM
By: Associated Press

null(AP) - Tampa Bay's David Price is the winner of the American League Cy Young Award edging Detroit's Justin Verlander by four points for the honor. Price picked up 14 first place votes in the balloting to 13 for Verlander. Price won 20 games and posted a season-low 2.56 ERA. His 205 strikeouts were sixth best in the league.

The National League Cy Young Award winner is R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets. He got 27 of the 32 of the first place votes to become the first knuckleballer to win the Cy Young Award. Dickey went 20-6 with a 2.73 ERA and 230 strikeouts.

Dodgers Clayton Kershaw and Washington's Gio Gonzalez finished distant second and third, respectively.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)