IMA Welcomes New Directors to the Board

Posted at: 12/27/2012 4:49 PM

DULUTH – After a year of progress, the Iron Mining Association of Minnesota (IMA) has grown to include two new producer directors .

The association – which strives to promote an iron ore industry that will provide long-term growth and prosperity for all stakeholders through profitability in a competitive, global market – welcomed its newest directors this month.

Jeff Hansen will represent Mesabi Nugget Delaware, LLC, a joint venture between Steel Dynamics and Kobe Steel. Mesabi Nugget began production of nuggets at its plant in Hoyt Lakes in late 2009. The company currently employs 118 people.

Tom Lutes and David Bednarz will represent Mining Resources, LLC, a joint venture between Steel Dynamics and Magnetation, Inc. Located in Chisholm, Mining Resources is a new operation which began producing iron concentrate in September of this year and currently employs 65 people.

The IMA also announced the results of its board elections this month. Incoming board members include: Marci Knight of American Bank of the North and Greg Elmquist of Metso Minerals, both located in Hibbing; Dwight Day of TUFCO, Inc., in Eveleth; and Randy Abernethy of Industrial Weldors and Machinists and Margaret Hodnik of Minnesota Power, both located in Duluth.

They join returning board members: Christina Bartovich (U.S. Steel), Patrick Bloom (Cliffs Natural Resources), William Bond (ArcelorMittal), Jack Croswell (Hibbing Taconite), LaTisha Gietzen (PolyMet Mining), Tom Jamar (Jasper Engineering), Sandy Karnowski (Cliffs Natural Resources), Tom Kelly (U.S. Steel), Ed LaTendresse (Northshore Mining Co.), Larry Lehtinen (Magnetation, Inc.), Joe Leoni (Trenti Law), Brian Maki (Lakehead Constructors), Jim Perry (Furin & Shea), Laurie Potter (U.S. Steel), Cliff Rasch (Barr Engineering), Santi Romani(United Taconite), Jeremy Smolich (Keewatin Taconite) and Tim Tomsich (Hibbing Taconite).

General Manager of ArcelorMittal Minorca Mine Jonathan Holmes returns as board chair, and Craig Pagel returns as president and treasurer of the 27-member board, which meets quarterly in the interest of the iron mining industry and its supporting businesses.