Alabama-Huntsville To Join WCHA, Maybe Next Season

Posted at: 01/18/2013 10:15 AM


MINNEAPOLIS (AP) - The Western Collegiate Hockey Association will have 10 teams after it breaks up this year with the addition of Alabama-Huntsville.

The WCHA announced Thursday the Chargers could join next season. They've been an independent since the College Hockey America conference dissolved three years ago. The program, started in 1985, has made two NCAA tournaments since moving to Division I in 1998.

The WCHA currently has 12 teams, but Minnesota and Wisconsin will help form the Big Ten in the fall. Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska Omaha, North Dakota and St. Cloud State will join the new National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

Alaska Fairbanks, Bowling Green State, Ferris State, Lake Superior State and Northern Michigan will join Alaska Anchorage, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech and Minnesota State in the WCHA next season.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)