MCC president Dr. Anne Kress receives ATHENA award

Posted at: 01/24/2013 2:54 AM
Updated at: 01/24/2013 1:22 PM

The Women's Council, an affiliate of the Rochester Business Alliance, presented its 27th annual ATHENA Award Thursday.

This year's recipient is Dr. Anne Kress, president of Monroe Community College. Kress was selected from 15 finalists based on her significant professional achievements, community service endeavors and leadership in the advancement of other professional women.

Last year, Dr. Judith Baumhauer, who is associate chair of academic affairs for orthopaedics at the University of Rochester Medical Center, won the award. She was the first woman to serve as president of the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery.

News10NBC's Janet Lomax has also been nominated in the past for the award.